lvrebelman's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Missed and Gained

Alright, bitches, I haven't updated in a month, so bear with me. :-)

I went to Peru for three weeks and had a really good time. DespIte an uncle who was getting on my nerves (and asking constantly why I am without a woman), it all went smoothly. I went to all the usual spots, but this time I was armed with a digital camera.

I thought I'd start off with a pic of the beach. While I thought Nice had much better beaches, this wasn't bad to look at either. Going in the water though, is a different story.

Despite its reputation for being yet another polluted and Latin American capital, I think Lima has some pretty nice architecture. This building is the equivalent to the Supreme Court, I think.

This fountain is found at the Plaza De Armas, the main square in Lima. It looks like much work has been done to keep it clean and maintain its original look.

Like most of South America, Peru was under Spanish colonial rule for a time, while the Spaniards have long since been mere visitors, their influence remains, in the form of buildings, like this one I found in central Lima.

I always tell people that I gain ten pounds after a trip to my parent's homeland, this is one reason why. A cousin and her husband opened a restaurant a couple of years ago and this is one of the dishes they serve. It's called jalea (ha-LAY-uh), basically fried seafood served with yucca (cassava, whatever you call it), and some sort of sea plant at the top. Yes, it's as fucking good as it looks.

I came to realize that to some degree, my family in Lima is better off than the family in the U.S., ironic considering that Peru is thought of as a poor country. Here I am getting some practice in at an uncle's beach house. We had a barbeque afterwards, it was heaven.

For a trip outside Lima, I went to the Ballestas Islands, home to some wildlife. Just looking at the caves themselves is an impressive sight, but with sealions to boot, damn, it was fabulous.

To close this, here is a pic of me on the boat at the islands. Despite my ability to swim well, they made me wear that damn vest anyway. *sigh*

I will post more pics in the future, right now I have too much reading to do. It's only the first week of the semester, but damn, it's a lot.

That's life, and I think I dealt with all of this pretty well. Next up, the cultural leadership retreat, I have no idea what to do... yet. It's my third time, but after being away for so long, it's taking a while to get back into the swing of things, I only very recently got back into the habit of thinking in English.

About the trip: While I loved my time there and have no regrets, I missed out on quite a bit here. Devian finally had the chance to go out with me, and I nearly died when that moment came and I was in Lima. Also, I missed having the option to be myself, not having those occassional moments where I had to plan out what I'm going to say or how I'm going to act. I think that's why I missed my friends so much... :-/

Oh, I got Karaoke Revolution 3, and I'm working on my singing career. I hope to be the next Backstreet Boy-who-went-solo. j/k :-) I am however thinking of inviting people over and playing a round or two, I think that'll be fun. Must buy tequila... *slobbers*

11:52 - January 23, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

jwinokur
devian
fumblinglust
jonathan29